Sarah’s Story

I joined West Clare Tri in 2010, when the club was first founded. Triathlon was a completely new sport to me and at the time I had only just taken up running but I joined the club anyway and I have never looked back. My first Triathlon was a Try a Tri in Kilkenny, I had a 3rd hand bike, a loan of a wetsuit and anxiety heading to the start line, I kept asking myself why I am doing this but the West Clare Tri Club motto is Try It, Do It, Own It and that is exactly what I did, it was amazing, and I caught the triathlon bug.

West Clare Tri has been a great source of support and comfort for me, there is and has always been people on hand to help you out, offer advice and mostly importantly cheer you on (they are a club who will happily stand in the lashing rain, just to get you over the finish line). Over the years I have witness so many people getting that same level of support, I have seen people learning new skills and complete challenges they never thought they would. I have seen people, with a genuine fear of water, learn to swim and finish a triathlon, all with the help and support of the West Clare Tri Club

For me I am not a competitive person, I am social athlete, I enjoy taking part, meeting people and just taking in the whole experience of doing a triathlon and the West Clare Tri Club has allowed me to do that, I never felt pressure to win or be the best, I was still accepted into the club and I have met some fabulous people and made some great friends.

It is more then 13 years since I completed my first Try a Tri in Kilkenny, I have completed so many more since, my favourite always being ‘Up the Creek Triathlon’ (I swear I am not biased), I am a mom now and my reasons for doing triathlon have changed, I am not doing just for a social aspect, I am doing it for my kids, to get them involved and hopefully inspire the next generation of West Clare Tri Club.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.